Blogging Isn’t All That Easy Lately

Hey there!

Yeah, I know, it’s been a while since I last posted anything.  The thing is, I don’t really have that much to say, that I think anyone would care to actually read about (not counting The Lovely Wife, and probably my mom, that is).

I’m a pretty quiet guy, and I generally don’t have much to say.  The deal is, though, when I do decide to say something, it’s because its something that I feel needs saying.  That’s me in a group setting, anyhow, or when I’m with people I don’t know very well.  When I do know people, one-on-one communication becomes much easier for me.  I can talk your ear off, usually about subjects you don’t care a whit about.  For The Lovely Wife, I suspect she feigns interest in my topics, just to have the privilege of hearing my voice once in a while.

On a blog, though, it’s different.  The reason I’m slow to speak is because my mind needs a few moments to formulate its thoughts.  I’m lousy at debating.  But, give me a keyboard, and suddenly, the words flow quick and free!  I’ve got enough time to put some cogent thoughts together, to make sure that I am saying what I meant to say, delivered in the manner in which I intended to deliver it.

So, why should I suffer from a writers’ block on a blog?  I’m not sure.  Self-esteem?  Perhaps.   Maybe I’m just afraid to do it.  I suspect that one of my recent posts may have hurt someone I care  about very much.  I didn’t intend that, but, its there all the same.  Maybe it’s that I don’t feel like I have any thoughts which are my own, and that its not worth the time to parrot other peoples well expressed thoughts.

I really don’t have an answer to it.  I enjoy the writing.  I have things I could talk about.

Why?

Powered by ScribeFire.

~ by brianackermann on 2009-04-15.

Leave a Reply

 
